More people are spending their free time watching movies. Why is this? Is it a good thing or bad thing?

Movies, these days, are gaining popularity among many people. While some people consider as a best pastime activity, others disagree. This essay will outline a few imperative reasons why people choose to watch a movie in their leisure time, and then explain why this is an indecent development for adoption.

To begin with, watching a movie is less demanding and usually almost free of cost. After a tiring day at work, no one might like to do activities such as jogging, running, swimming. Owing to the fact that sitting in front of a TV or a computer screen, or even in a cinema, viewer does not require to do anything physical. Therefore, most people prefer it as it is entertaining without any effort. What is more, for this type of entertainment, huge amount of money is not an essential requirement. Most people watch it on televisions, where it is free, others get subscription of Netflix, which is a website where an inordinate number of movies are available at a very low price.

The above reasons are understandable, yet this sort of activity has numerous drawbacks. Firstly, it is a sedentary hobby that can cause several health problems, which are evident in our society. Obesity and heart problems are decent examples of it. Most movies also highlight bad social issues that include murder and robbery. As a result, people, especially children, are affected by its influence. Several juvenile delinquencies and murders are as a result of watching crime movies.

In summary, seeing a movie in a free time may require minimum effort and money; however, its negative aspects are much more for adopting it as a hobby. I believe that people ought to avoid it and give preference to alternatives which are beneficial. It is predicted that in the future, more and more number of people might find other demanding hobbies more joyful