Extended working hours leads to increase in stress levels of employees. Not long ago people were more content and healthier and last few decades due to many reasons. This essay will discuss such reason in detail and suggest necessary measures for employers that can be used to overcome stress.

There are multiple reasons for stressed out lives of employees. Firstly, world has become a lot competitive nowadays and employees often become victim of increased competition as they fight for their job and promotions. This competition often pushes people to extend their working hours which in turn affect work-life balance. For instance, competition amongst global mobile companies has forced them to come up with new models of phones every month and this puts burden on employees o be more creative and deliver on tight schedules. Such cases are very common with different products across industry lines. Another reason for stressed out life is that people follow unhealthy food habits such as fast-food and no time for exercise makes them lazy and increases their cholesterol levels. Medical science clearly says that exercise and healthy food habits makes a person strong and people can handle work related stress more easily. In conclusion, increased competition forces people to work overtime and become stressed and wrong lifestyle managements leads them to worsen the situation.

There are specifically 2 things that required attention from employer side which can lead to a better stress management. Firstly, employers need to provide options for healthy food habits and a work-out place. Many studies have suggested that an office work-out place increases work productivity and helps employees to have a regular exercise plan. In addition, employers need to provide an onsite consultant to support employees in work-life management. Employees can handle stress through proper guidance

To conclude, Stress is the result of over competitiveness merged with wrong food habits and no exercise. It has very straight forward solution that employers should provide food stalls with healthy food options and a place to work-out. These solutions can immediately bring down stress levels as has been proved by UN Study of human resources.