Nowadays parents put too much pressure on the children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

There is no doubt that children in these modern times are facing excessive parental pressure to achieve success, owing to the surge in competition to obtain a lucrative job and education. In my opinion, it is a negative trend as it not only makes the juveniles stressful but also vanishes their innate talents.

To begin with, the most crucial factor why parents usually pressurize their offsprings to succeed in studies and every task they perform is the rise in the competition for getting admission in renowned institutes and availing employment. The reason for this is most of the qualified educational institutions and job departments conduct competitive exams, which, in turn, select the candidates with highest scores and proficient skills. For instance, every year the cutoff of engineering exam to qualify for the selection in the Delhi University reaches to 95%, this clearly signifies that students with intelligent minds can secure their position in this institute. Therefore, the acquisition of better opportunities in education and profession urge the parents to persuade their children to excel in every step of their life.

However, in my perspective, this is not a positive phenomenon as this can instil a feeling of stress and can destroy the inbuilt skills of the children. This is because continuous pressure of studies and distance from the activities of their own interest usually lead to the isolation of children, as a consequence, they can suffer from phycological illness. Moreover, extreme pressure of studies and fear of failure sometimes tread the juveniles to wrong paths, as a result, in stress they commit unethical actions such as suicide, drug addiction and misbehave with elders. For example, according to the child survey by the government of Delhi, there is a 20% increase in the suicide rate of students who were suffering from study pressure, from the last 5 years.

In conclusion, although to acquire the zeniths of success in this competitive world hard work is quintessential at each facet of life, in my view, pressurizing the juveniles for this is not a good approach as it can destroy peace from their lives and surpasses their inborn skills.