Traffic congestion from automobiles is a growing issue, which results in harmful detrimental effects on both pollution and quality of life. One suggested solution is to reduce the amount of traveling done by people for personal, work or academic related. This certainly is a viable solution and it may reduce the traffic to a great extent with, but it does come with some disadvantages and drawbacks. This essay disagrees with proposed solution and will discuss on negative aspects of solution in question followed with alternative approach to lower the traffic in an effective way.

Preventing people from traveling results in certain degree of isolation, which could have a drawback on the overall community. Human beings have been social creatures from the very beginning and this is an important aspect in the overall development and advancement of human race. Technology today has evolved to the level that allows humans to do most of their day to day activities without stepping out. This behavior gradually, but consistently results in reduced human interactions with one another, which results is social isolation leading to awkwardness and discomfort when running into other fellow human beings. This could have greater impact on society and affect how societies operate, leading to a slowdown of the process of evolution.

The other practical and promising method is to encourage green mode of transportation, which uses recycled sources of energy. This does reduce the amount of travel needed by people, which would lead to lowering of traffic, leading to congestion free cities. This approach does have other added benefits which are actually better for environment. The overall air pollution and vehicular noises are reduced. Other big advantage to this approach indirectly results in healthy lifestyle and good habits.

To conclude, the proposed suggestion on lowering the traffic has certain important negative aspects. As such, this essay disagrees with this offered solution and also since other better approaches are available with multi-level benefits are discussed above on one such alternative solution.