Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People often spend their leisure time, these days, doing different activities that include reading and watching . the former is a positive habit as it makes the reader sharp; however, sitting in front of the television and watching movies is considered as an inactive pastime. I completely agree with this viewpoint; this essay will discuss the above statement in detail.

To begin with, reading keeps the reader's brain totally active since it requires an individual, who reads, to be mentally present. For example, someone who is studying a book or an article ought to be focused on a text in order to fully understand it. Otherwise one will not be able to absorb it fully. According to psychological experts, the brain works more efficiently during the process of reading and understanding written texts. This is because it requires the information to be visualized and form links with the previous and current data. It is, therefore, clear that understanding written notes are accountable for dynamic mind behavior.

Seeing movies, on the other hand, is static because it can be executed without using thoughts. In other words, since watching TV involves visual scenes and audio tracks and every detail has already been concisely presented in it. For that reason, the viewer may not need to visualize the plot in his mind. Video plots are usually designed to cover all necessities of the viewer; thus, the watcher may not invariably feels the need to use his imagination. Recent research by Oxford University concluded that watching television has a detrimental effect on functionality of person's brain, which makes his focus difficult to maintain.

To sum up, reading is a brain activation process as it requires the reader to pay conscious attention. On the contrary, TV programs might not need the complete focus of the viewer to absorb the story. Thus, reading is a more active process that exercises the mind and encourages a stronger sense of imagination as compared to watching television.