In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, increasing of large shopping centers among the customers causes many small local stores to shut down. I, personally believe that it is a negative movement for our society and this essay will explain why the local shops are essential for our society.

First of all, shutting down the local shops creates unemployment problems since the employers of the shops are jobless. This is to say that there are more criminal events in the society because of the lack of job opportunities. For instance, the research report from Cambridge University stated that the number of criminals are reversely proportional to the number of employment. As the employability in a city reduces, the police cases increase. Therefore, small local shops are crucial for its ability to create employment opportunities and cut crimes.

Secondly, the large supermarkets can monopoly the market if the local shops have closed. This is because there is no competitor with the supermarkets and they have a whole control on the price of the goods. For instance, City Mart, the biggest supermarket in Myanmar, has full control over the price of cosmetics when all local cosmetic shops have closed. As a result, people in Myanmar are consuming a regular cosmetics with an expensive price. Thus, the small local shops are necessary to keep up the price competition of a product.

To summarise, the local shops play a significant role in creating job opportunities and balancing the market competition which are important for the goodness of our society.