Should companies (businesses) ensure that they employ a quota (or fixed percentage) of women in all jobs, or is this an impractical concept? Discuss both sides of this debate, and reach a conclusion based on your own opinion.

Workplace quotas have been suggested for some time now, in an attempt to encourage gender equality in the workforce. The issue is not entirely straightforward, although some arguments can also be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view.

On the one hand, it can be said that quotas would allow many benefits to women to enter traditionally male professions, ranging from surgeon to airline pilot. This, it is argued, would expand the pool of people available to do these jobs and reduce inequality between the sexes. Firstly, it helps to maintain a balanced workforce in the organization, which can bring more equality in the workplace. Secondly, On-the-job training helps women to achieve higher productivity and high level of output in job. For instance, a recent study by the IMF shows that 50% of the organisation are using the quota based methodology to maintain diversity in the workplace.

On the other hand those of quota for women cite that the situation can be impractical, meaning it bears no similitude in today's world. Although on-the-job training would be superficial, meaning that it would not only increase the expenditure of the company but also make it difficult for employer to measure the performance of employee.

To conclude, it seems that work quota opens up new avenues for women career growth and development, which can increase the chances of loyalty to company as well.