Should private schools receive government funding?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A discussion has been brought forward that whether private educational institutes should receive financial support from government or not. I believe it will be beneficial for the country and public if finances are given to government schools instead.

There is no comparison between the tuition fees charged between the two types of schools. Firstly, fee that students pay to study in a private school is not affordable by most of the population and hence only the well settled class of the country which is about 40 percent of total population can afford to study there. Which means that private schools already receive funds from the wealthy society of the nation in the form of tuition fee.

Secondly, Education courses and standards match with various foreign country courses, which concludes that majority of people who are studying in private schools, target to go to abroad for higher studies or work experiences. Government will be wasting its financial resources if they help to educate people who want to help another nation from their studies.

In addition to this, there are number of events held in private schools like debating competition or sports gala to polish the student’s confidence and compared to government schools they excel in every field. For instance, during my time at government-funded school we once had a competition with a private school which included numerous activities such as acting, debating, swimming and marathon. The fact is hard to digest that we lost each competition because of lack of funds to do these activities on daily basis.

To sum up, it will not be wrong to say that it is better for the government to fund their own governed schools rather than private ones as the students are weaker in every field of life and can do better with a little more funding.