In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.

What is your opinion on this?

It has been observed in some part of the US that adolescents are prohibited to go outside of their homes during certain hours at night or they are allowed to go out of doors only when accompanied by an adult family member or friend. In my opinion, a curfew is vital for the safety of teenagers and to prevent them from involving in anti-social activities.

To begin with, I think that the safety of juveniles is utmost important in some areas of the US which can be done by imposing a curfew at specific night hours. This is because many criminals and anti-social groups are likely to operate at night-time, thus they can negatively influence teenagers by robbing them of their monies or valuable items. For example, the statistics of criminal activities happening at night-time in the US shows multiple negative incidences like rapes, murders, and robberies involving teenagers.

On the other hand, I also believe that a curfew after a particular night time is of paramount importance for any parents, as it prevents their children from participating in some illegal activities. As some criminal minds preferentially work in the dark, they may lure teens to participate in illegal activities with them. Consequently, they are prone to be arrested by the police and have to face jail for a fair amount of time. If teenagers are accompanied by their parents at night, the chances of their involvement in illegal activities could be minimized.

In conclusion, I firmly support the idea of imposing a curfew in sensitive areas of not only the US but also other parts of the world for the safety of adolescents and stopping criminal activities specifically focused on them.