It is popular that many countries provide financial support for those who are not currently participating in the labour force. Overall, this policy is a positive initiative, offering relief to the unemployed who are dealing with livelihood challenges. However, the effectiveness of this policy largely depends on how people use their given funds.

First, government financial support is a lifesaver for the unemployed. For example, in Canada, millions of people are unable to go to work or secure jobs due to the outbreak of Coronavirus, a communicable respiratory disease that has been infecting thousands of people daily. To support its unemployed people, the Canadian government has been providing each eligible individual with a relief fund of two thousand dollars per month, which is sufficient for most people to cover their basic expenses. As a result, the majority of Canadians can enjoy staying safe and healthy from home without worrying about going to work during the heat of the pandemic. Therefore, unemployment financial support is an effective remedy for those who are struggling with their livelihoods.

However, the effectiveness of unemployment financial aids chiefly depends on how recipients use them. On the one hand, these aids appear to be most effective when given to workers who are self-motivated and eager to work. In this case, workers only wish to receive this means of support temporarily during the uncertain times, then stop registering for it as soon as/immediately after they can return to work or find suitable jobs. On the other hand, these funds can have adverse consequences if they are put in the hands of passive workers, who are unmotivated to apply for jobs or even quit their jobs voluntarily. These workers are opportunists who take advantage of government assistance and abuse the welfare system, contributing to the national budget deficit. Hence, unemployment financial aids can be a double-edged sword depending on who receives them.

In conclusion, although unemployment financial support may not always be a positive development for society depending on how recipients decide to use them, this program is indeed a great boon for workers during the hard times in their careers. Governments should continue implementing this program, as well as put great effort into recipient eligibility verification to reduce the deficit in their national budgets and promote a sense of fairness in their citizenry.