It is considered by many that, people who are fit and well-built can attain higher success in sports competitions, whereas there are others who are of the view that mental strength is the key for achieving success in sports. I find it more logical to endorse the first view, rhhe reasons for which will be enumerated in this essay after evaluating both the views.

On the one hand, being mentally stronger will help individuals and teams to come back from their failures. This means that, it will enable them to learn from their mistakes and when they correct these mistakes, it will encourage them to win the next game. For example, a research conducted by the Oxford University press in 2015 found out that, people who are me tally strong are more motivated than others to win a game. Furthermore, being mentally stoing will reduce the risk of depression when people lose a game, they can calm their minds in these situations.

On the other hand, I believe that people who are fitter and stronger can achieve greater success in sports.This is due the fact that, individuals/teams who are physically fit can easily beat their peers. They don't have to worry about the physical confrontation which occurs during a game. In these situations strong people can easily overpower their competitors. So to succeed, they only need to maintain their fitness level. For instance, a person who have a good endurance can easily win a race by using his/her full capacity.

In conclusion, although some people may argue that good mental attitude is necessary to acheive success in sports, I believe that fitness also play a significant role in being successful in sports competitions.