Nowadays, there are some people who believe that certain old buildings are worth preserving more than other buildings. This belief is based on the fact that these buildings would help in the generation of finance, encourage tourism and so on.

First, let’s take a look at buildings such as the Presidential Villa in Aso Rock Abuja. About its structure, it serves as a symbolic building in Nigeria where the President of the country resides during his tenure. A president can’t stay in a building suffering from lack of maintenance. It is of necessity that the Presidential Villa should be preserved because it serves as a shelter to the President in power. In addition, the Ojukwu Bunker which was named after the Biafran leader “Chukwuemeka Ojukwu” and served as a hideout for him and his generals during the Nigerian Civil War is an example of another building worth preserving. In preserving this structure, it would attract international tourists and schools who will visit for educational purposes. Furthermore, the palace of King Jaja of Opobo falls into this category of old buildings enlisted for preservation. Although this building depicts slave trade. The preservation of this palace has attracted international tourists from all over the world and it has also attracted journalists too. It is also in the history books, so it is worth preserving.

In other words, I believe that the advantages of preserving these buildings outweigh their disadvantages. By preserving the Aso Rock Villa, it is ensured that the Head of State stays in a conducive environment and carries out his official duties effectively. An in-conducive environment would create distractions! Tourism helps the economy of a country thrive, so keeping our old buildings such as the Ojukwu Bunker and the Palace of King Jaja of Opobo would encourage tourists to visit.

In conclusion, I believe that certain old buildings are worth preserving and I believe their advantages outweigh their disadvantages.