Some people believe that certain old buildings are worth preserving more than other buildings What type of old buildings are worth preserving Do the advantages of preserving these buildings outweigh the disadvantages

Nowadays, some people believe that certain old buildings are worth preserving more than other buildings. These structures occupy a place in the history books and they stand out when it comes to achievements.

First, let’s take a look at the Aso Rock Villa in Abuja. This structure serves as the residence for serving Nigerian Presidents. In fact, this can be said to be the most important building in the country because this is where the serving Heads Of State operate from throughout their tenure in office. In addition to the types of old buildings that are worth preserving, let’s look at the Ojukwu Bunker which served as a hideout to the then Biafran Leader “Odumegwu Chukwuemeka Ojukwu” during the Nigerian Civil War. Over the years, the structure has served as a tourist attraction and has attracted more tourists yearly. Furthermore, I won’t forget to mention the ancient palace of King Jaja of Opobo. This palace also attracts tourists from all over the world.

On the other hand, the advantages of preserving these buildings outweigh the disadvantages. For instance, not taking care of the Aso Rock Villa in Abuja would distract the government and the President can’t thrive in an uncomfortable environment. About the Ojukwu Bunker, lack of maintenance can lead to the collapse of the tunnel. At the palace of King Jaja of Opobo, lack of preservation can lead to collapse and total wreckage of the tourist site. According to the disadvantages above, it is clear that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

In conclusion, it is expedient that certain old buildings are preserved because of the value it brings to the area which is situated in.