Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.

Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The heated discussion over children learning at school or at home has not been settled yet. There are two dimensions of the topic, one group of people asserts that learning at home is best and cannot be matched with any other method. Whereas, the other group is of the opinion that facilities and environment provided at school level cannot be made available at home; hence, going to school is obligatory. In my opinion, despite of several advantages of learning at home; children should attend school to learn different aspects of life other than academic learnings only. I will support my opinion with valid arguments and examples.

To start with, it is quite evident that there are enormous benefits of learning at home. All the studies are core focused on the individual student, customized according to the needs and level of understanding. At home, kids get to interact with family more and spend quality time while learning. Many social problems are associated with lack of family time together. At home, kids are not only taught academic studies but basic manners of how to behave with elders and guests. How to mingle up with siblings and most importantly moral ethics.

On the contrary, school learning has its own perks that are unmatchable. At school level, kids get to learn how to mingle up with peers, pressure handling, peer bullying situations and how to deal with them. Furthermore, at school level children get the opportunity to participate in extracurricular activities like gymnastic, stage presentations, debate competition etc. These activities sharpen their other skills and they gain confidence. From development perspective, all aspect of learning and grooming must be kept in mind which can only be possible if child is attending regular school.

To summarize the aforementioned argument, I again assert on the importance of sending kids to school for learning and development. The atmosphere, culture and learning methods are not to be compared with any other learning platform.