Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

Knife crime amongst the youth in England is at an all time high, with 4000 cases recorded already in 2019. Why is this a recurring tale? Experts have blamed in on the absence of activities for these teenagers. They have suggested that unpaid community work should mandatory and included in the school curriculum to keep students engaged. I completely agree with this assertion because of the reasons explained in the following paragraphs.

To begin, exposing high school students to volunteer work like sports coaching and charity works encourages them to have a sense of responsibility early in life. These activities provide valuable learning experiences which allow children see the impact they can have by helping other less fortunate or disadvantaged members of the society. For example, in the United States of America, college students are solely responsible for collection of unused cloths for charitable donations. It is not surprising that years after graduation, they still partake in other charitable works due to the exposure during their college days.

An idle hand is said to be the devil’s workshop and for this reason community service help students stay away from social vices. The time they would typically spend planning on smoking, assault and watching X-rated videos could be channeled towards productive activities in their communities . In Israel for instance, high school students are required to join either the youth army or the peace corps without pay. It is therefore not surprising that juvenile delinquency is none existent there.

As we can see from the above analysis, It is necessary to make students participate in unpaid community work. Moreover, a small token ought to be given to them as a sign of appreciation and encouragement.