It is widely agreed that a happy and stable relationship in marriage is the bedrock of any community, with a greater likelihood of responsible partners, and if children result, harmonious family. Because of this, it is important to support the institution of marriage in every way possible. One important question in relation to this is: at what age should couples be allowed to marry?

There are a number of reasons for making the minimum age for matrimony as late as possible. Many would argue that people in their 20s are able to make such more rational decisions than teenagers can. Older people might have seen enough of the world to know that the feelings that they hold for someone at a given moment may not last. They will realise that superficial characteristics like physical beauty and sporting prowess may not be the only ones to bring happiness in a relationship. Older couples are likely to give more consideration to issues such as income and job prospects, but also to less obvious but important personality traits such as tolerance, kindness or moral strength.

However, other people contend that it is unrealistic to make couples wait until their 20s before marrying. They suggest that as soon as the boy and the girl reached puberty they should be allowed to marry. To prevent they doing so would result in resentment between the generations, frustration and an increase in the number of unsupported pregnancies. If married teenagers are given enough help to support, they can have children when they are young and healthy enough to enjoy them.

Taking into account both this sets of arguments, I feel that 21 is probably too old but that 18 should be made the legal minimum at which couples can marry.