There are predominantly two contrasting views where a section of society prefers to shop for local products while others emphasize that imported products are better than local ones. However, in my opinion, customers should check the parameters before shopping any product whether it is a local product or international one. In this essay, I will discuss both views in detail and conclude my opinion.

On the one side, numerous factors make a section of people advocate that local products are the good ones to buy in the market, and have many reasons to substantiate it. First and foremost is that consumers preferring to buy local goods which results incline the economy of the country. Apart from that, nominal costs like logistics, general tax, and sales tax are applied to local products because it does not include the taxes like custom clearance tax, certificates tax, and many more that come under international trading schemes. Moreover, there are more employment opportunities in the fields of marketing, advertising, manufacturing, and production because more development of local goods requires a large number of people to support the market of the local products.

On the other side, some believe that imported products are better than local ones because of several reasons. Chiefly, the assured quality of the product is granted by the manufacturer of the company. Due to assured quality, it has a good reputation in the market. Therefore, customers prefer to shop for international goods because it also influences buyers due to their trust-relationship which is built for so long. For instance, in India, consumers like to buy sports shoes from companies like Nike and Addidas instead of buying it from local brands like Bata because of their good reputation and quality.

In conclusion, in my view, customers should shop for both of the products in accordance with planned shopping budget, reviews of the other consumers how already bought the product. This will help them to get a valuable product according to their needs and its importance.