Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Primary level of students to college level of students says that there’s too much attention given to academic subjects than technical classes, of which I wholly understand. And on this essay, I’m going to give my views on this matter.

First and foremost, we must know that both learning facts and practical skills are essential in achieving our success. But there’s a reality that there are several reasons why schools are giving more priority on academic subjects that having practical classes. One is because learning facts is a mandatory. It serves as a preparation by the time we select the correct career path for us. For example in order to get a professional license we need to take a board exam. And on these exams, the focus is more on theories from which we have learned during our primary to college. Another reason is the lack of facilities and equipment. This happens because of some budgeting issues in a particular institution. An example is in a Chemistry class, wherein students will end up to theories if they won’t be able to applied the things they learned through actual experiments or related activities. And it was all because id the unavailability of needed instruments.

Having said some of the reasons above, there is some extent that practical skills should be given of the same importance. Teaching practical skills will give the students a way of bringing out their abilities to which they could be benefited during the beginning of their work. It is so important that it will facilitate a preliminary work experience to them. To give example, upon graduating from my college, I was instantly employed but I realized that there’s so much practice needed in order for me to perform my work well.

As the conclusion, obtaining both factors are very important in educational process. Although, learning academic subjects are needed, schools must find ways in providing practical skills to their students.