Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued for quite a long time whether the schools and universities should focus on theoretical aspects of education or hands-on skills. A vast majority of people believe that most of the high schools and universities mainly focus on theoretical lectures rather than practical skills. However, I strongly believe that they should focus on practical skills despite some drawbacks, such as the extra cost involved in conducting hands-on classes. In this essay, I will discuss my opinion further with relevant supporting reasons and examples.

To begin with, hands-on classes play an important role in educating children with broad mindset and knowledge. Nowadays, practical lectures are becoming increasingly popular among students. Nevertheless, young children learn more effectively by attending practical classes. Because it creates a real-time picture in their mind when they experimentally perform the task. Having more hands-on classes, schools and universities are also getting great results in terms of students passing percentage. Therefore, now most universities and schools are started focusing on these types of practical classes instead of theory lectures. In schools, for instance, students learn international languages by giving practical examples more effectively.

On the other hand, there are few drawbacks of practical classes. One of the major disadvantages of the practical classes is that it costs more to schools and universities to set up a laboratory for hands-on experience. In addition to that, they need some equipment and resources to run the laboratory. Many international technical universities, for example, have to buy expensive computers for students to perform some kind of research and practical assignments.

To sum up, the primary schools and universities should focus on hands-on lessons more than theoretical lectures. Providing facilities to practise assigned tasks could help students to understand the topic in a better way. In my opinion, they should provide some kinds of laboratories to students, which could be helpful for them while studying their academic subjects and learning new skills.