Many argue that studying history as a subject should be given importance at school as it helps in understanding one's culture and tradition. However, others are of opinion that subjects like science and technology should be given more importance. I totally agree with the latter, it is true history is important in knowing the past, but learning science and maths in school guarantee's a better job prospect.

A country's art and culture is preserved in it's history, and it is important for the young generation to know things about their ancestor. A lot of historical events help to understand the reason of the constructive and destructive events in the past. It can be said, upon knowing such incidents, one can help to build a better future for the next generation, by avoiding the mistakes made by their elders and learning the ways to make life easier. However, this do not happen always, as it is said history repeats itself, thus it do not make a point to learn from the past.

Today, people often believe that education shall focus more in a direction that will help the students to get employment. Studying science and technology provides great job opportunities and financial stability. Such profession includes doctor, engineer and scientist, which according to some are more respectful job. There is no doubt that leanning science makes more sense, as at the end for parents as well as the students it is important to have an open job market, which is not possible with history majors.

In conclusion, science and technology as a subject at school level should be given a priority, as it helps in getting a quality job. However history shall not be ignored and should be kept as a mandatory subject, so that children can have insights to their culture.