Some people say that success is ’10 percent talent and 90 percent hard work’.Is hard work the key to success, or is talent also important?

Every person wants to be successful in his life. But can diligence alone give the assurance of success or does endowment also plays a crucial role in it? Some people think that it is essential to be diligent because with persistent efforts, it is possible to achieve anything. However, I do not agree with this notion completely for the following reasons.

To embark upon, talent is something which cannot be inculcated into someone forcefully, indeed, it is either present or absent. To advocate my view point, I would like to give an example of myself. When I was a child, my father wanted me to learn Piano for which he not only bought an expensive Piano but in fact, hired a best tutor to teach me. But even after incessant attempts of learning it for four years, I could not do very well. Thus it proves that only industriousness is not enough, indeed, a person must possess skills as well in order to reach to great heights.

Furthermore, it is not feasible to learn something without having interest in it. Like a doctor cannot become an excellent singer unless he has good voice and passion for it. He might gain knowledge of music by taking tuition from a singer. But it is impossible to buy or to develop good voice, essential for singing. Hence, the significance of natural endowment is inevitable.

To recapitulate, I admit that we must put our maximum efforts to fulfill our dreams but it is vital to be realistic too. One should definitely contemplate whether we have the required skill to be able to do best in a specific profession or not. Because it is doable to assemble the resources required to perform some task but is absolutely impossible to purchase the talent needed to do it with excellence.