Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent decade, there has been intense debate by educational expert whether undergraduates should be allowed to choose their choice course or subjects directly related to science and technology. In my opinion, I will align my thought with the former referencing articles from the Daily Times Journal and New York Times.

To begin with, it can be argued that students, at that stage of their life are not well informed on the right subject to study at the university. Consequently, the need to guide them on courses (such as Chemistry, Physics, Engineering and Medicine) useful in the field of science and technology. With the right mentorship, they can excel in their discipline. According to a recent survey conducted by the Daily Times Journal on the leading engineering firms in London, seventy percent of the top executives were guided on their choice of course.

Conversely, our society is such that youths get exposed to the real world right from childhood; all thanks to technology. Accordingly, they develop passion for a career that best suites them. Steve Harris, a renowned motivational speaker said, “Find what makes you happy and build your world around it”. Students tend to excel significantly in disciplines not related to science and technology (such as economics, art, and sociology) thereby building a society driven by passion. To illustrate my point, The New York Times published an article on 5th June 2020 that ninety percent entrepreneurs around the `world freely choose their course at the university.

As a closing remark, although it can be argued that students should be guided to choose science related courses, the benefits of freely choosing a desired course at the university very well outweighs the reverse.