Some people think that imposing more tax on companies which contribute to the increase in the pollution will force them to reduce their negative footprints on the environment. Other people believe that there are more viable methods to encourage companies to decrease their pollution. In my opinion, there are many possible ways to motivate firms to reduce their negative / damaging impact on the environment instead of applying more taxes.

Admittedly, imposing additional taxes on companies that contribute to the industrial pollution might force them to reduce carbon emission or waste produced by their operations. They might consider ways to reduce their pollution; nevertheless, this will be limited to meeting certain standards stipulated / imposed by the authorities.

On the other hand, people usually act more positively towards incentives and rewards. In other words, if governments grant more incentives to companies that reduce pollution, then these companies will strive to take serious steps to decrease their negative impact and gain rewards .Authorities can motivate companies by many ways. First, certain tax reduction scheme can be granted to firms that decrease their pollution to below the industrial standard. For example, the corporate income tax in Turkey is around 35%; however, if a company uses a certain technology to reduce its carbon footprints, then this company will be eligible for tax reduction. Second, the government should consider granting loans at a discounted rate to companies that reduce toxins produced by their operations. This approach has proven its success in many counties like Japan and Taiwan. Another motivation for companies to reduce their pollution is to encourage them to benefit from their waste. For instance, in Turkey, firms that invest in technology to convert waste to energy are compensated by the authority as all the electricity produced from waste will be bought by the government at a high price.

In conclusion, I believe penalties might force companies to meet the minimum pollution standard; however, granting incentives and rewards schemes will encourage companies to be more innovative and reduce their industrial pollution to limits less than the set standards.