Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Should boys and girls be educated in separate schools has always been a contentious subject. Some speak up for co-educational systems, while others refute it. This essay will scrutinize both the perspectives before drawing a reasoned conclusion.

People repudiate unified schools, due to the diversion caused primarily among adolescent pupils. Students may get engrossed in infatuation, consequently may go astray, which may be detrimental to their future. By curtailing the interaction between the genders, segregated institutions overcome this hindrance. For instance, we can assay any Middle Eastern country or the rural areas of India, where this notion prevails. Another reason cited for this view is, parents feel assured about their children’s safety, as the likelihood of sexual abuse to pupils in unintegrated institutions seems meagre compared to co-educational systems. This opinion emanated due to the sexual assault crimes reported in schools in the recent times.

On the contrary, advocates of mixed schools deem that co-education develops higher interpersonal skills in the student. When a person, who has studied in a segregated institution, enters his profession, where there is no seclusion between man and woman, he finds it tough to adapt to the environment. On the other hand, a person from a co-educational institute can proceed without any hesitation. This is because; socializing among boys and girls becomes an everyday ritual for people from mixed schools. Moreover, given the opportunity to assimilate the opposite gender, students will learn to respect each other and this consequently will reduce the violence and hate crimes against women, which are predominantly due to objectification of women.

Finally, though both systems have their own virtues, co-educational system will best suit the society, as both men and women have to co-exist and only mixed schools will aid the students in comprehending the opposite gender. Furthermore, we can overcome the cons of mixed school, by establishing better counselling methods to juvenile and inspecting the laws governing sexual harassment in schools.