Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some prefer making friends with completely like-minded people, while others prefer making friends with people who have slightly different interests. I strongly agree with the latter preference since these small dissimilarities are pivotal for healthy, long-lasting friendships.

On the one hand, fully compatible friends can avoid conflict in their friendships. For example, when two like-minded friends go to the cinema, they tend to agree with any idea the other suggests, such as which movie they should see or what popcorn flavour they should buy. As a result, these friends can avoid unnecessary conflict that can become intense, damaging their harmonious relationships.

On the other hand, friends who sometimes have disagreements can make their friendships less monotonous. For example, when two friends argue over what movie they should watch, they will have a chance to compare the strengths and weaknesses of different movies. This comparison is a new experience that these friends may not have if they are always agreeable in all matters. Therefore, disagreements do not necessarily mean they are detrimental to friendships. In fact, these disagreements season the relationships by adding more fresh experiences to make the relationships more adventurous.

In my opinion, having some disagreements is more beneficial to healthy, long-lasting friendships because disagreements make friendships more interesting with new arguments and experiences. On the contrary, if two friends only support each other's ideas with no new argument introduced, these friends may become disinterested in one another at some point in the future; hence, their friendship is not likely to flourish in the long-term.

In conclusion, having some disagreements is vital for maintaining sustainable and fruitful friendships. Disagreements are a special kind of spice in friendships and without them, the friendships will be tedious and incomplete.