Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Friends are an important part of an individuals social life and we often come across people who either agrees or disagrees with our point of view. While some people believe that it is essential to befriend those who holds the same opinion as them, others believe that friends who disagrees and do not hesitate to put forth their point forward should be around. I agree with the latter and in the following paragraphs I will put forth my reasons before giving a personal opinion.

To begin with, there are numerous reasons why people should have friends who might have different viewpoints. Even though friends support one another and may have similar views on several factors but disagreeing on certain views aids in understading the different perspectives of people’s thoughts. Consequently, people can have meaningful and enlightening conversations or debate on topics without having to worry about offending the other person.

Moreover, disagreements not only provide insights about different viewpoints but also facilitates in understanding facts that were previously unknown or unclear. It makes people question the existing information and encourage humans to look for answers thereby leading to new areas of knowledge. Consequently, it broaden the horizons on a number of domains. For example, during a cricket match when friends sit together, each person supports a different team which leads them to discuss about their favourite players strategies or any personal information that was not known to others.

To recapitulate, I strongly opine that friends should ocassionally disagree and put forth their points so that people can engage in insightful conversations and gain more knowledge.