It is true that the advent of technology has brought tremendous benefits to human life. While technology can narrow the gap between social classes to some extent, I believe that some technological products have set affluent individuals apart from others, as well now discussed.

On the one hand, it is true that technology has transformed our lives and reduced the gap between individuals. The availability of technological products has allowed massive numbers of people to live a comfortable life in almost the same way. For example, today nearly every household has at least a television, a fridge or an air-conditioner, all of which help to increase the overall standard of living and narrow the gap between the haves and the have-nots in society. The spectacular growth of low-cost airlines also means that more people are able to take a flight to the place they want to go to.

Looking the argument in this light, some feel that technology has bridged the gap between the rich and the poor. On the other hand, I side with those who argue that some technology has separated wealthy individuals from poorer ones. Many technological products are prohibitively expensive, and only the rich are able to afford them. Luxury cars and private jets, for instance, have created a shining image for the owners, giving them an aura of confidence when they appear in public. Those who live on a meager income, in contrast, could merely enjoy a frugal life with mediocre but necessary consumer products. The idea of possessing the latest technology in the home might be far-fetched to bourgeois individuals.

In conclusion, although some technological products are produced for the masses, I believe that some others contribute to the difference in lifestyles between rich people and poor ones.