Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children

who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Entire world is in competition irrespective of sectors, so a section of people believe that we should teach our children how to compete since their childhood. However, some people argue that sense of co-operation is much more important than competition to become a responsible citizen. Though both views have their own weightage, I believe sense of co-operation is much more important than competition, and will discuss further in my paragraphs in details.

On one hand, it is true that to survive in today's scenario competition is necessary. For instance, there are plethora of options available in the market for a particular product, and a sales man try his best to sell his product. Therefore, if a student can learn how to compete since his schooling days, it would be easy for him to cope up with the challenging world later on. Moreover, competition helps students to brush up their skills, make them more confident, which will help them in their professional life.

On the other hand, someone says, " progression of nation or society always depends co-operation of the people". Having said that each individual must work as team to be a part of successful society or nation. For instance, cricket or football match can be won with team work only. Similarly, in organization, success of every project depends on co-operation and team work of every employee. Therefore, we must educate our children to be co-operative. In fact, co-operation and supportiveness bring out the best of the community. To illustrate, if every student in the class has a sense of co-operation, the less performer in the class will get motivated because of his classmates’ encouragement. Moreover, a battle can be win as team and co-operation of each other, rather than having competitive mine.

To recapitulate, although competition is vital in today's environment, but co-operation is the best way to accomplish any mission. Competition brings jealousy, whereas co-operation brings success and prosperity to the community.