Some people work for the same organisation all their working life. Others think that it is better to work for different organisations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people work for the same company all through their career life, others work for more than one firm before retiring. There are various factors that necessitate these behaviors.

Those who work for their first employer all through their working life do so because they found good working conditions at the workplace. When a man has enough earnings to take care of his needs, he remains relaxed and does not feel the urge to change employment. There is also, an additional motivation that comes with proper career progression plan for staff. Such employees feel at home and go on to spend their entire career life with the employer. For example, Mr. Emma spent 35 year of his life with his first employer - EEC Energy. During his retirement party, one of his juniors asked why he remained with EEC all through his career life and he answered that good working conditions coupled with rest of mind made him commit his life to EEC. He went on to explain that EEC showed him from the beginning that that he will have a great career with them, and coupled with good pay, he was convinced to commit his future into their hands and till that very moment has never seen any reason to regret his decision.

On the other hand, those in support of moving from one organisation to the other believe that by doing so, one is able to get huge pay rise within a short period. When employees interview with another company, they use their current wage to negotiate higher pay with the new firm. Some times the rise could be as high as 20% and if the employer could move to five of such jobs in two years, his salary will increase by 100%. Such an increase may not be achieved by staying with the same employer, even with a very high performance. In addition to the increments in earnings, these people are also assigned more senior roles as they move.

In conclusion, I believe it is better to remain with the same employer provided the remunerations and working conditions are right. Business owners can encourage their employees to remain with them by matching whatever offer they get and providing them with good working atmosphere.