In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

According to the traditional belief, men are considered to be the bread winners whereas women are seen as care givers and are responsible for taking care of the family. Hence, girls opt for art subjects in schools and colleges and boys opt for science subjects. In my opinion, I unquestionably believe that this trend should be changed and both the genders should be given to choose subjects according to their interests.

The view that males have the sole responsibility to provide financial support to the family and females as taking care of the family members is deeply rooted in our society. The primary reason is the gender related personalities and competence. Simply stated, boys are considered to have analytical abilities which is not possessed in girls so that is why they opt for subjects like physics, chemistry and maths. Parents have an age old believe that the girls have to become housewives and look after their family is also the main objective of not persuading them to build a career as medical doctors or scientist. To illustrate, a research report has depicted that more that 30% of the girls do not take analytical related subjects as it is not appreciated by the family and society

Undoubtedly this trend should be changed and both the sexes should be treated with equality. Both men and women should be given the equal opportunity to choose the course on the basis of his interest and curiosity. Parents should not consider the main responsibility of girls to take care of the household chores but should encourage them to get high education and build a successful career. To elucidate, great ecientist like Marie Curie, Ada Lovelace have proved that women are no less than men in fields like science and physics.

In conclusion, I vehemently agree that both men and women should be treated impartially by the community and should be motivated to excel in fields like science and physics