Some think that residents should responsible for keeping thier areas clean and tidy, while others say it is the government’s responsibility. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Some people conceive a notion that it is locals’ duty to keep their area clean and tidy. Others perceive that it is the government’s job. Therefore, ahead of my position both sides ought to be discussed.

To commence with, there is a proverb “small drops fill a lake”. In other words, if everyone contributes a little, then it can have a great impact. Therefore, if every individual tries to maintain cleanliness in their area then these efforts will eventually make a better and clean country. Needless to say, the place will become more hygienic and diseases free. Additionally, it is also citizens’ responsibility to maintain their surroundings. In some countries it is, in fact, mandatory. For example, in countries such as USA, Canada and Australia the law abides all the citizens to clean their footpath after snowfall. If they fail to do so, they can face serious charges from authority. Eventually, all follows the law and in no time the dwellers can get a cleaned walking passage.

However, it is also an undeniable fact that the government should also show some responsibility to clean the local areas. This is because citizen pays taxes to the nation to get some basic facilities. Healthy and clean neighborhood is a basic need of everyone. Hence, government should actively involve in keeping the local areas clean. For instance, In 2014, India started a campaign called “ Clean India”. Under this project the prime minister of India developed a special division that maintain the cities litter free. The end result is incredible. The towns and villages of India are now clean more than ever.

All in all, I pen down by concluding that it is compulsory to keep one’s local area clean and tidy. In my opinion, residents and government both plays a substantial roll in maintaining their surroundings.