Over the last decades farming has undergone deep technological changes in an unprecedent way. What just some years ago seemed to be science fiction, it has now become commonplace. Sensors beneath the soil can analyze roots affected by deseases hidden from human eyes and sending data to drones which can in turn pinpoint the hit plants and take actions in order to avoid a potential disaster. Computer and Artificial Intelligence are more and more gaining importance in agriculture, so that along the traditional tools, like tractors, fertilizers and harvesting machines, farmers can rely on high-tech as well to increase crops production.

Despite all those outstanding improvements, millions are still suffering from malnutrition and in some underdeveloped countries have to face up to drought and famine. This essay will briefly outline the most praobable causes of this issue and propose some solutions to tackle the problem.

Population growth plays has always been a major concern among scientists and governments. Nowadays, farming is taking on the challenge of feeding up to eight billion individuals. Not every country has reached high standard levels of life and some extremely poor nations in Africa or Asia are plagued by backwardness and lack of natural resources. Furthermore, climate change caused by pollution and the green house effect have made it difficult to cultivate soils properly, since large areas of fertile ground have been devastated by extreme heat or deforestation.

On the other hand, in some developed countries we are witnessing an incredible waste of resources and food as well. Actions should be taken in order to cut down on throwing away food which can be given to the needy for free. In addition to this, rich countries should also support developing nations by providing oversee aids and sending high qualified personell who could use their expertise to teach local workforce.

T conclude, I beleive that developed countries should take a major effort when it comes to helping poor nations to develope their own farming industry. At a time when increasing productivity has become a priority, the current technology could be the key to successfully accomplish the challenge of feeding a whole planet. To avoid a potential humanitarian catastrophe caused by lack of food, rapid actions should be taken.