These days, it seems that an increasing number of people are leaving rural areas to live in the city. Discuss some of the effects of rural depopulation (migration from the country to the city) and suggest some ways on which this trend could be reversed.

The world has never witnessed such a great influx of population in cities from rural areas that it did in the last decade. Cities are already over-populated, polluted and cramped with an overwhelming number of people. Only decentralisation and mandatory relocation can reverse the scenario.

To begin with, only 20 percent of the world population lived in cities at the beginning of the 20th century while this has already escalated to over 80%. This over-population in cities increases the crime rate, contribute to environmental pollution, decline the life-standard, increase competition and make healthy living a dream. The traffic congestion is a direct result of rural depopulation and housing problem in cities are getting worse day by day. According to a recent study, the lifestyle of cities is declining faster with the dramatic increase of its population.

To stop people from moving to metropolitan areas the government has to adopt decentralisation policy. If enough facilities and employment opportunities are created in the rural areas, people would not move to cities, at least this could be hoped. The underlying reason people move to a big city is to have a better job and better facilities. To reverse the trend the government has to start big projects to empower the rural people and forcibly move many factories and facilities to nearby countrysides. Education, treatment and entertainment facilities in cities attract many rural people and the only way to stop this influx of people is to add those facilities to countrysides.

In conclusion, cities become less suitable for living with the inflow of rural people who come to have a better life but eventually face more problems. Decentralisation could be a very effective solution to shift this concerning trend.