Family is the basic unit of social structure. With the passage of time, it has been observed that relations among the family members are becoming sour and this also affects the tradition of eating meals together. I will cast light on the factors responsible for it and its impacts on both the family and society in the upcoming paragraphs.

To embark on, there is a plethora of reasons why family members rarely eat meals together. The hectic schedule of both the parents and the children is the predominant factor responsible for this changing scenario. Nowadays, both mother and father are working to make their hearth burning and due to which they do not have enough time to spend with their families and off springs. Sometimes they have to work overtime to meet the requirements of the work place and this leads to make them eating in the company premises or by ordering the food online. Apart from this, children are so busy in their studies to achieve great academic performance. Besides, attending eight hours of official school they are send for tution classes by their parents and sometimes language classes in the weekends for their development which makes them busy round a clock.

This gradual alter in the trend has huge impact on the family and society. Firstly, having meal with family provides a great chance to bond with each other but eventually they are losing opportunities to share daily stories with each other. Also, family bond is weakening as parents have less quality time to spend with their children and this is the stepping stone for their off spring to become defiant and heedless. On the social level, some traditions may be lost and family values are might not appreciated as people do not feel the need to come back home after the work for a meal together. For example, special occasions such as on New Year's Eve, family feasts serve as an important event but it is regretful that this tradition is constantly disappearing.

To recapitulate, I would like to say that various factors are attributable for disappearing family meals and this has damaging effects on both families and societies.