Increasing journey times and delay in transport are a major area of concern in many cities around the globe today. Some of the causes for this are lack of transportation modes and increasing population, however this problem can be controlled by government intervention.

It is evident that transit times are increasing at a rapid rate because of poor roads, shortage of modes of transportation, and lack of infrastructure. Poorly constructed roads causes traffic jams which results in an increase in overall journey time. Even though separate lane for two wheeler is not available in many major cities due to which they drive on the single lane which is available for four wheeler and heavy vehicles. Another major cause is increasing population, people from rural areas are moving to cities in order to live a better life, whereas infrastructure facilities in cities are outdated. In other words, there is no development in terms of infrastructure and there is huge pressure on existing resources due to massive population.

However, there are two ways through which this situation can be controlled. Firstly, subsidies can be provided by the government to private players, so mode of transportation, such are buses and trains can be increased. In addition, public private partnership can also help in construction of roads and subways in order to save time and money of people. Another possible solution can be constructing various townships in order to accommodate people moving from country side in residential areas. This will help in smooth flow of traffic as residential areas are separated from commercial areas. Furthermore, If special budget can be allocated by the government for development of roads then it will enable the smooth renovation of transport facilities.

In conclusion, this issue is one of the critical issues and it can be controlled by removing the bottlenecks. Although government intervention will improve the situation to a great extend, but contribution from the general public will also be beneficial.