Transport is an essential part of urban life, and lengthy journeys are frustrating and expensive for those concerned. There appear to be two main causes of this, and several possible solutions, as we will explain here.

Perhaps the main cause is the lack of investment or funding for infrastructure in the form of high-capacity public transport and increased road space for private vehicles. This means that too many vehicles use the existing network, and congestion is inevitable. We see this in many cities globally, such as London or Tokyo. Many conurbations also lack finance for transport hubs, such as integrated road or rail facilities which could connect public and private transport, thus reducing bottlenecks. A further cause seems to be the problem of overcrowding in cities, whereby people migrate from the hinterland and settle in urban areas, putting strain on amenities, housing and above all on transport capacity. This means that an already stretched system was often pushed to a critical point, causing cancellations and breakdowns in technology used, especially in situations of urban sprawl such as in Latin America.

Regarding potential solutions, probably the main remedy would be to encourage investment in better infrastructure, for example through subsidies or public-private partnerships as was tried successfully in Vietnam during the 1990’s. This enhances the network and fosters a sense of civic pride to everyone’s benefit. Another solution may be to use tax incentives to allow more home working, so that there is less need to commute from the suburbs to the inner city for work. A final response might be the development of a more flexible pattern of transport, such as communal car-pooling, which would reduce reliance on existing systems and vehicles.

In conclusion, it seems that outdated infrastructure and overcrowding are the key factors behind transport frustrations. Possible solutions would involve better funding, and also innovation in ways of working and travelling to reduce the burden on the system.