You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some people think that professional athletes make good role models for young people, while others believe they don’t.

Discuss both these points of views and give your own opinion.

Write at least 250 words.

In the modern world, being a professional sportsperson is gradually becoming an alternative livelihood for some individuals to survive. It is commonly believed that a sportsman can establish a role model for the youth. However, other people oppose the view.

It is reasonable to believe that young people can positively affected by a sportsperson. First of all, most sportsmen have a variety of valuable qualities that are worthy of serious attention. Lee Chongwei, a badminton world champion, for example, his steadfast dedication and tremendous perseverance are valued by the whole world. Therefore, the young can be inspired greatly to become a hardy being. In addition, athletes also play a significant role in encouraging the youth to take exercise daily and maintain their health, as they have an impressive proficiency in knowledge about the importance and benefits of daily exercise.

On the other hand, it is also worth mentioning that some sportspersons are not always the optimum role model for the young. Firstly, athletes play no role in educating young people, especially those school students, about the approaches to enhance their academic skills, as most sportsmen are ineffectual at theoretical studies. Furthermore, a large number of sportsmen possess no self-discipline. As an illustration, some sportspersons are prone to a series of temptations, thereby deviating from social norms and becoming notorious for misbehaviour including sexual or doping scandals. As a consequence, some psychologically immature adolescents may develop a tendency to imitate them.

To conclude with my opinion, most athletes are well-qualified for establishing a good role model for the youth, attributable to their valuable qualities. However, the minority of sportsmen with disturbing habits also have negative impacts on the youth.