Agree or disagree: It is better to make friends with intelligent people than with the people who have a good sense of humor.

Helene Keller once said, “Walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light.” Undoubtedly, friendship has become a pivotal component of modern society. One cannot really survive without the support and aid of friends. Not only are friends important but also what kinds of friends people make can make a huge difference. Some prefer to make friends that are humorous whereas some tend to mingle with friends with intelligence. It is of my belief that making friends with intelligence can bring forth a host of benefits.

To begin with, intelligent friends can provide us with some insightful and to-the-point suggestions. That is, when we are faced with dilemmas, friends with intelligence can analytically appraise pros and cons and give us the most favorable opinions without being biased. For example,before deciding what major to pursue, I could not make my my mind since on one hand, I loved English literature and linguistics because I always demonstrated some kind of knack for learning foreign languages. However, my family would want me to major in some disciplines that are more “lucrative,” meaning that fields of study, such as biology or computer engineer, that could help me gain practical skills and thereby secure jobs that pay well. My family made the claim that studying English literature and linguistics would only enrich my critical thinking and reasoning, some skills that could not be directly translated into practical skills that can be applied at workforce. Such dilemma bogged me down, and I resorted to my good friend Johnny from high school, who was extremely knowledgeable. After appraising my interests and weighing potential career options, he asserted that I should definitely follow my heart and become an English major. He reasoned that soft skills, such as critical thinking or humanistic train of thought would be something that will be highly valued in the future, especially in this era of high-tech. People with such soft skills would be extremely valuable in any kinds of posts. His words convinced me to become an English major. Now, working as a vice-president of a business company, in retrospect, I am grateful that I listened to my friend’s words back then since indeed, as what he had foreseen, soft skills, such as critical thinking or people relationship, are not something that can be learnt from textbooks or at laboratories or on the Internet. The trainings as an English major, however, did indeed equip me to acquire those skills and helped me with my career as the vice president of the company, whose job demanded such soft skills.

Furthermore, we can gain and grow enormously, intellectually, by making friends with intelligent people. That is, if we spend more time interacting with intelligent people, not only could we get to hear what they have to offer on given topics but also we could exchange different ideas, thus stimulating us to grow and improve. This kind of mental exercise would definitely be beneficial and rewarding. To exemplify this, I once had a flaring debate with another friend of mine, Alex, regarding how to interpret certain texts of Animal Farm by George Orwell. Alex considered animals’ treachery in the story was merely an act to overthrow human’s authoritative control whereas I argued that the protagonists in the story, the Pig Snowball and the Pig Napoleon, could represent real historical figures. After the debate, we decided to jot down each other’s arguments and went over one point by point. After we exchanged our own ideas, I found his textual analysis pretty intriguing and I had not been able to see the story in this regard before if I hadn’t listen to what he had to offer. The same occurred to him. We ended up learning so much from each other and were more capable of interpreting stories from divergent angles.

Irrefutably, some dissidents might disavow my argument by claiming that having humorous friends is better since they can help us relieve stress and pressure from work and schoolwork. After all, our life has been mainly composed of an accumulating amount of defeating pressure springing from our professions. Humorous friends can tell jokes and make fool of themselves to make us laugh, to let us forget all the pressure, and to make us look on the bright side of matters. The importance of being positive and optimistic cannot be over-emphasized. However, have these people forgotten that humorous friends might not be able to give us the wisest suggestions in life to assist us in overcoming life obstacles or making critical decisions? Have these people not realized that humorous friends can merely make us laugh and that’s all? Granted, they are important, but having humorous friends is not as important as having intelligent friends who can enrich our lives on so many different levels, mentally, psychologically, and socially. Intelligent friends are like a beacon, guiding us when we drift, shining for us when we are in the dark, and most importantly, standing there for us when we are lost.