Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends, the foundation of interpersonal skills, have been valued and even trigger a heated discussion over whether it is more important for people to have the ability to maintain friendships which old friends or to make new friends easily. The ability to maintain the connection with old friends, in many people's views, is beneficial to people. Contrary to these people's opinions is my perspective that the ability to make new friends easily is superior, due to the contributions to academic performance and necessary skills.

What must be prioritized is that the ability to make friends easily, rather than the ability to maintain friendships, is favorable to people's academic learning, by extending their knowledge and cultivating their interests. To begin with, the more we make new friends, the wider we can gain knowledge. In detail, every time when I made a new friend who was from another country, I would learn more about his country's culture and history, and I could reap and harvest a large amount of expertise; on the contrary, under no circumstances can I reap the knowledge of new culture by meeting with my old friends. Moreover, never can we ignore the significance of the ability to make new friends easily to people's interests. To explain it further, it is always new friends that invite me to attend some activities that I have never known about or played, and in the whole process, I can foster my interest in new things; however, it is impossible for me to attend a whole new activity with my old friends because we are so familiar with each other.

What is equally worth discussing is that by having the ability to make new friends easily, instead of having the ability to retain the friendships with old friends, people can benefit from improving their necessary skills, by promoting their interpersonal skills and teamwork skills. First, it is well-known that by making new friends, people can improve their interpersonal skills quickly. To be specific, when I have to communicate with someone I am not familiar with, I need to find out the best way to build the relationship, so after I talk with a variety of people with different ch