Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All students should be required to study art and music in secondary school Use specific reasons to support your answer

Entering secondary school is one of the important stages in people's lives . Students are not only learning knowledge that will benefit their whole life, but also building their characters. Thus, many secondary schools ask students to take art and music classes, which raises hot debates in society. Some people believe that school shouldn't make these classes compulsory, while other people contend that art and music education are essential for students' development and should give enough attention. In my opinion, students should take art and music classes in secondary school. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will elaborate in the following essay.

First and foremost, the education of art and music is beneficial for students' whole life. Many people assume that students should only attend classes that are relevant to their studies. But people who hold this view forget the fact that solely pursuing grades won't make students a better person. Art and music are also important parts of our society and civilization, and by learning these, students are exposed to a wider world. They will learn how to appreciate the beauty of art and music, which will be beneficial for their further improvement.

Second, art and music can also ease the hardness and tiredness of daily study. After a long day of hard study, students deserve to have some time to get rid of the tiredness.Take myself for example . When I was in secondary school, attending art and music class was the only time I could relax and enjoy artworks. Contrary to what others think, after a good rest, my grades not only did not decrease, but improved.

Admittedly, people who dislike the idea that art and music should be listed in the school curriculum have their own reasons, and some of them are reasonable to some extent. Like it might affect students' studies and leave them less time to prepare for exams. But if how to gain a higher grade is the only thing students are taught in secondary school, these kids' school life will be plain and tedious.

In conclusion, based on what has been discussed above, I truly believe that students should be required to take art and music class, it will not only prepare them the ability to appreciate art, but also enable them to relax themselves in the day-to-day study.