Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.”

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that education aims to the purpose that to develop the students completely. In the modern society, it seems to be that the technical side is getting better the others sides. Advocators believe that the science subjects play an important role and it is no need to concern to the social subject, especially history. In my humble opinion, however, history should be a basis to support the young graduates despite their field of study is.

In the first place, the course of human race is a concept of a series of events that repeat in different forms and in different ages. It is certainly that fact that the world we live in has been built by our choices when facing with the darkest hours. Humans, a specie armed with no natural weapon but the intelligence, have to fight extremely to survive the nature. It is our choice to stand together that formed our civilization, it is our choice to slaughter each other to survive the war, and it is our choice to leave the conflicts behind to live in peace. That is all our history. That is our inheritance. Our history includes both the triumph and its dark side. But no matter of its bare core is, the history tells no lie. Based of the history, human could live others lives, which is our ancestors. Scientists point out that there is a group of certain issues repeating during our course. Through history, we could learn how to handle these problems. For example, human has observed a large amount of wars that could lead our race to the edge of annihilation. But we always found a way. The agreement of Saladin and the Western Kings allowed Islam and Catholic the chance to live in peace. The fall of Berlin Wall opened a new era of friendship that allowed our civilization to thrive. Nowadays, we are facing the threat of religion conflict in the Middle East. It seems to be the same war we survived. Researching the stream of history might give us a solution. I believe that there is always a choice hidden in the time that could bring peace to the Earth again.

On another hand, history is the concept of cultures and the important events of each nation. It could be defined as national identity. In the world of globalization, more and more countries have lost the identity. It is a vital requirement that they have to reduce the barrier of culture to enter a new world. However, globalization does not mean erase every thing that used to be their identity. A nation of no identity would sooner disappear. One of the most important elements of history is language. The mother language is the inheritance of ancestor. It is the soul of every nation. Furthermore, mother language is the key to ensure their identity. For example, Vietnam and Israel are the only two countries could keep their mother language surviving the time of slaved. And it is the history, it is the key for them to create their own values.

Last but not least, history is the standards of behavior which shape a person. There is countless generation who have grown up under the lullaby and folk stories. And it is history. Through out the folk inheritances, children learn to be a good man. Their dignities are shaped and their moral lives are allowed to be thrived. It is the magnificent value of history.

In conclusion, I believe that history still plays an important role in modern society. That is why the universities should combine this subject in their course. It is the basis requirement that generate a better generation.