Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both negative and positive aspects of learning about historical events. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely state that it would not be necessary for all students to take a history courses in university for two critical reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, I think these classes would be so dull and flat for the student with unrelated field of study. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. For instance, when I was 18, I had some history courses in the university but I did not want to attend those classes. In that time my major was psychology and it was not interesting for me to attend to those classes. Therefore, most of the time I felt sleepy and I could not concentrate on the teacher's lecture. As a result, I could not pass those classes and I had to take them over and over. I think this example could show you how much is important for students to take courses that they like and it would be even better for them to take courses that are related to their main field.

Finally, I think forcing students to take history courses without considering their major field of study would be real waste of their time. They probably can use that amount of time doing something valuable and beneficial. For instance, one of my problem with taking history courses in university was that I did not want to spend my time on something that is not going to be profitable for me at the end. Once, I had to attend to one of my history class even though I had some exam the other day. It was hard for me because I wanted to study more but that would not be plausible because I had to be present on that class. You can imagine how mad I was at that time. I was feeling miserable and did not know what to do. As a result, I attended to that class and did not study for the exam. I got low grade from that exam only because of some redundant class. For the examples like this I think it is not necessary for the students with unrelated field of study to take history course or courses.

In the light of above mentioned reasons, I think there is no need for students with different field of study to take some history courses and I believe that these classes would be so boring for them and that would be waste of time for those students.