Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The essence of history is a lesson and for it rings with the truth. Therefore, I firmly agree with the statement that asserts all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

To begin with, history courses are important because they directly showcase outcomes of certain actions. What people have done before and what consequences their behaviors have brought to our society. Once we have learnt from the past, it is helpful for us to consider our behaviors and lead us to a desired consequence. For example, students majoring in Architecture do not simply learn how to build a skyscraper in the middle of New York City. Instead, they have take a lot of factors of the reality into consideration, such as climate issues to understand the humidity and dryness of certain area to select the most suitable materials to construct a building. In this case, students are expected to read past records to analyze data; therefore, they not only have to learn to interpret old records done by others, but also learn to deduct a conclusion based on past materials. Consequently, learning history courses is important in order to understand what has happened before and prepare us to face the future challenges.

Secondly, history provides better insights into our society and these understandings can surely benefit students even though they engage in different field of study. The human being creates history and people from different cultures offer diversity to it. Therefore, it is crucial to understand cultural differences and learning history can assist students to gain knowledge about it. For example, Muslim people do not consume pork since it is one of their supreme doctrine. However, what if a student majoring in culinary runs a restaurant in Muslim countries yet provide pork-related meals? It is definitely a insult to their culture. On the contrary, if students are taught the origin of Islam and their followers' regulations, everything regarded to cultural conflict can be avoided. Therefore, learning history can certainly benefit students even though they choose to take part in another field of study.

Admittedly, some may argue that it is unnecessary for all university students to study history courses since some majors require hands-on practices and long-time practices to sharpen their skills, such as art students. Art schools are notoriously renowned for their heavy workloads upon students. If art schools require art students to register history classes, it would burden students' academic lives and offers nothing but more pressure.

However, it not always the case. Since history is what people in the past have done, it can certainly provide benefits to university students to have better understandings in our society. Therefore, I firmly agree with statement.