Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The food we ate in the past was healthier than the food we eat today.

"We are made of what we eat". I read these words from an article recently in a magazine. This means that what we eat defines our life. Therefore, we must consume the best type of food for our body. Many individuals support that 50 years ago people consumed healthier food. However, in my view I definitely believe nowadays we eat healthier for than ever before for some reasons.

To begin with, today food is free of pesticides. Therefore, toxic chemicals have been removed from the products we eat every day. For example, I read in the article I mentioned before that currently companies are utilizing some techniques to avoid using toxic chemicals. For example, the new introduction of crops resistant to pest. By using plants less likely to suffer from diseases, agriculturists do not feel forced to use chemicals to improve quality of crops. Thus, the discovery of this new technique minimized the use of pesticides. However, I doubt this kind of technology was available 50 years ago, yet the food we eat from agriculture today is much healthier than previous years.

Moreover, the products we consume today are strictly regulated by the government. In the past, people tend to consume raw animals with plenty of sickness. For example, years ago people ate pork by hunting or rising at home. Nevertheless, today, the government has laws to protect costumer from diseases. For example, as a veterinarian student, I had to learn the laws to raise pork and cattle. I know from experience that animals which are not raised properly to eat must be sacrificed and burned as a safe protocol. All these laws are recent, and thus many individuals in the past were tended to suffer more from animal-transmitted diseases.

Another way we differ from our ancestors in the way we eat is the fact that we have more knowledge about eating habits. The information thanks to the technology is easier to spread out. For example, I read an article in the newspaper about health each day. Through this I grasp information about what to eat. Consequently, I avoid eating fast food or any harmful type of food that it is described there. I am sure 30 years ago people did not have the accessibility to this information as we do now.

To sum up, for all my reasons above, I concur that people today have better food habits than ever before. Moreover, scientists will continue investigating about this discussion in order to improve our quality of life.