Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree that governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams for the following reasons.

First, national sport teams can gather the citizens and people in the country will cheer for their national teams' victory. For example, during Olympic 2020, most people in Taiwan were so enthusiastic about the Olympic games, especially when the national teams of Taiwan played on. During that time, Taiwanese people were glued to the livestreams on TVs, and when Team Taiwan won a medal, they all went crazy and were so proud of the athletes. The whole country celebrated for the victories and temporarily forgot the issues in Taiwan that happened right before the Olympics. Thus, I believe that supporting athletes can help the country be back together.

Second, sports are more friendly and familiar to common people. To be more specific, people can easily get access to sports while it is hard for common people to get access to arts. If governments support athletics more than arts, people can truly feel that. For example, people can go to parks to play basketballs, and if the city government are willing to renew the courts and baskets, or even build more basketball courts, people in the city will know that improvement easily because when they go to the courts on another day, they will find out that the courts were renewed at the first sight.

Finally, I believe that supporting athletics can make the budget of the government be used more efficiently. That is, a government's investment on athletics may lead to more profits for the country than that on arts. For example, if a government spends more money in support of athletics, such as building sports stadiums, the cost will be controlled and the government can expect the profits. Nevertheless, if the government spends a lot of money on buying a super expensive painting or statue, they cannot easily evaluate the profit because there are no definite source of income.

For the reasons mentioned above, I disagree that governments should spend more money in support of. the arts rather than in support of athletics.