Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universities receive money yearly from government or private companies. Some people do not support the fact that paying better salaries to teachers will enhance quality of education. However, in my view, the addition of salaries will bring so many benefits for everyone.

To begin with, better salaries will encourage even more student to choose education as a field of study. If a student knows that he could make enough money to live well, he will feel motivated to be a teacher. Part of the current problem about the decreasing of interests in education is money related. For example, my mother is a teacher in Venezuela. She told me to study to be a teacher also. However, I knew I was not going to be able to make enough money to be independent, so I declined her request. Because teachers make a low paid salary, teenagers do not want to become a professional in education. Thus, if a university decided to pay better their employees, they will encourage more people to study education.

Second, the reputation of the university is related to the amount of money the professors receive. It is said that the best universities around the world are extremely expensive because they need to provide students with the best quality level of education. If professors are well paid, and the school has a good reputation, so more students will enroll in classes. For example, Harvard, one of the best universities in the world, has a high enrollment of students since they know they will receive a high quality level of education. This is due the fact that Harvard counts with the best staff to teach students. Consequently, by improving salary, universities benefit with more enrollment of students.

The increase of salaries also helps professors to keep one job and do their best. Usually, a professor has to have at least three works to make enough money to pay bills. Thus, they won't give the best of them in class. Instead, they just go to perform mediocre classes. In other words, professionals of education feel discouraged in these jobs. If the university could provide a better salary, professors will be able to stay in just one school and give the best of them giving outstanding classes. Hence, schools could have more benefits by paying more to their workers, specifically teachers.

To sum up, even though some people disagree about paying more to teacher, I completely support this aspect because of all the benefits we will get from this. For all my reason above, I do think universities will have better education by paying more to their workers. If the university ensures high salaries, I will be the first to register to be a teacher.