Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The greatest threat to our planet is the belief that someone else will save it

Robert Swan

the destruction of our environment is outstripping the earth’s ability to recover from it. Millions of tons of cement are being produced each year and the pollution is tremendous. This incident is parallel to wasting millions of tons of natural resources in agricultural or other human activities. I believe that it’s our duty as the intelligent species of the planet to come up with solutions that would not only serve our construction purposes but also would reduce our environment pollution. In this regard through my years of education, I devoted a considerable amount of my time and energy to come up with practical solutions that can benefit all species.

During my master’s degree program, I utilized the amorphous phase of rice husk ash (RHA), a waste by product of agricultural activities, in self compacting concrete. The first challenge that I had to prevail was the production of an active silica based material and the related papers seemed paradoxical for me at the beginning. following the procedures that were proposed in many papers, I was unable to achieve the desired silica Purity, and utilization of higher temperatures to produce RHA, that was suggested in many paper and was effective, was not cost efficient. After an array of laboratory investigation, I realized that though carbon amount can decrease the strength of concrete, In the same breath it can increase the viscosity of SCC concrete. In order to find the optimum condition that can enhance the viscosity, decrease the bleeding, strengthen the concrete and to be cost efficient I burned rice husk in many temperatures and many different conditions. but the possibilities were countless so I studied Genetic algorithm, Taguchi method, Ant colony optimization algorithms, response surface method and other advanced mathematical and statistical methods to reduce the number of experiments while strengthening the reliability of the results. Finite element analysis along with advanced statistical and mathematical evaluation of laboratory experiments took a lot of energy and time. While many other classmates encouraged me to finish my thesis with less effort and less evaluation, I believed that the authenticity of our research is depended on our devotion to the subject.

In my view granting a fellowship to this researches field not only paves the way for my current path and encourages me to carry on with this scope of researches, but it will also demonstrate the priorities of the university. The priorities that I believe is concerned with making our live easier and what better way to enhance the quality of our life than being a part of the solution.