Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is difficult for teachers to be both popular (liked by students) and effective in helping students in

learning.

Give reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, students have various attitudes towards teachers. In my opinion, it is really arduous for teachers to be both popular and efficient in assisting students to learn lessons because most students define a popular teacher as a person who does not assign much homework and not have strict rules. The paragraphs will aptly elucidate my perspective.

To begin with, most students are a big fan of teachers who do not assign homework every day. As a matter of fact, students will be so happy if teachers enable them to have many leisure time after school. Because they can do whatever they want since they do not have any task to do. For this, based students' point of view, these teachers are most likely to be liked by many students. However, some teachers believe that if they assign homework regularly, students are able to learn lessons effectively. An example will illustrate this viewpoint much better. When I was in high school, we had a math teacher who assigned much homework. At the end of term, students were asked to choose their favourite teachers, so guess what happened, yes, the math teacher was at the bottom of the list, it was actually because of assigning so many homework. Had he not assigned homework, his name could not have been at the bottom of the list. As a result, it is so tough to be both popular and productive teacher although many teachers insist on assigning any homework not matter to be popular.

Furthermore, it is established beyond doubt that some people believe that teachers who allow students to do anything they want in class are not only popular but also effective, yet on the other hand, others believe that those teachers are not effective because the effective teachers are those who have many disciplines for performing their class. I will take the former viewpoint with a grain of salt, and claim that the latter idea is much more closer to reality, for it is not possible to be effective while not to have rules for classes and learning lessons. As a result, the more teachers are well-organized and have strict rules for their teaching style, the less they will be popular because you cannot find both characteristics on the same page and level.

To wrap it up, based on what mentioned above, one soon realizes that it would be so hard to be both popular and effective in helping students inasmuch as in the first place, effective teachers assign a lot of homework, which is not the sign of popularity among students, as in the second place, efficient teachers have many strict rules to control their classes, which it also is not a symbol of popularity.