Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and example to support your answer.

The government has the responsibility of making the most out of the money they possess. They should always consider the beneficial effect of a policy and choose the one that can benefit most people. Keeping this in mind, when the government should choose between spending money on improving Internet access and improving public transporation, I believe the latter is the apropos choice. The reason to why I perceive this way will be elaborated in more detail below.

First of all, improving Internet access provides various underrepresented people an opportunity to achieve equal level of knowledge. For some people, going to school and receiving proper education might seem like fantasy. As an example, parents who achieve severly low income may not even be able to afford public schools for their children. If so, these children would lack of proper education, and would be unable to make reasonable decisions and wanting in proper skills to get a high income job. They would eventually choose to take high risks to earn money such as selling drugs illegally, which can cause greater problems to the society. However, thanks to technological advancement, there are multiple online education platforms where children can receive equal level of education without any expense. There are even platforms such as Coursera where people can achieve academic degrees with only a few dollars. if they have access to the Internet, they would be able to access to such platforms and hone proper skills to become a beneficial member to the society.

Furthermore, improving Internet access would allow people to improve their social skills. Being able to collaborate is mandatory when it comes to doing projects such as building a robot. To effectively collaborate, people should be well acknowledged in communicating with various people. However, people nowadays tend to spend more time indoors by themselves because of electronic devices such as television and computer. They are gradually losing the ability to socialize with one another. However, having access to the Internet would enable people to use social network platforms such as Twitter and Facebook, allowing them to constantly interact with other people anytime and anywhere they want, which can help them to improve their social skills.

To sum up, improving Internet access would allow equal level of education for underrepresented people such as children who are living in a low income family, and enables people to hone their social skills through social network platforms. Due to such reasons, I believe it is more germane to choose spending money on improving Internet access, rather than on improving public transportation.