Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There is no shortage of opinion over the topic that whether it is more important to keep old friends or to acquaint new friends. Some believe that old friends are those who will pick you up when you get down, while others argue that new friends are going to bring your life inspiration and unknown opportunities. In my opinion, keeping in touch with old friends matter more. I feel this way based on two reasons, which I will explore in the following passages.

To begin with, building a strong connection with friends is never easy and it always takes mutual efforts for the relationship to work. Moreover, the constant devotion of both sides can make the bonds even tighter and long-lasting. Drawing from my own experience, I still keep in touch with my best friend from elementary school by sending messages and postcards from time to time though we haven't seen each other in eleven years. It seems like something with little effort, but I overcame my fear for embarrassment to maintain our friendship. Having a friend for more than ten years is definitely a heartwarming monument for knowing that we are on each other's mind. Most importantly, I feel mentally recharged whenever I think of our friendship while I sometimes feel drained by meeting new people intentionally. Therefore, every friendship built sincerely should be well maintained.

Secondly, I get more exhausted at making new friends as I grow older. People getting involved in more formal environments such as an office or a research laboratory have a common goal to achieve, and we spend time together on the purpose to reach that goal. During the process of fulfilling an achievement, I have the tendency to be more serious and discreet. For instance, when I was working a part-time job last year, I was not able to open up and share much of my personal life with my colleagues since we are acquaintances of a professional network. Therefore, it is not easy to be friends with colleagues even we spend abundant time together. Meeting new friends in spite of people from work needs extra effort, which is quite precious for a person who work eight hours per day.

To sum up, given the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe that the importance of keeping old friends outweighs that of making new friends. That is not to say other opinions are completely out of merits. However, I consider my statements provided substantiated to support my point of view.